1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Depression over current job...anyone?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by 1GreytWriter, Oct 19, 2014.

1. 1GreytWriter

1GreytWriter Member

For those of you who are trying to get out or have gotten out, were you ever feeling depressed while still at your journalism job?

I've been an editor for the last four years, so I can't relate to the many struggles I've read on here from reporters. Forgive me for that much. But, I have felt the burnout from working every Thanksgiving and Christmas, working weekends while watching all my family and friends have leisure time and being under constant scrutiny from my supervisor. (My first supervisor was pretty much a clueless 25-year-old who had no idea how to manage and gave off signals and said things that showed as much. His replacement is about the same age and has nearly argued with me when I'm not available for work at certain hours, even though I have covered coworkers plenty.) My coworkers and I get 1-1 performance reviews every 3-4 weeks, and the team as a whole then gets an e-mail about where we need to step up and what was good. On team meetings, my boss will give a shoutout to the person with a best review, although this time, he did it in the group e-mail.