1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Covering college basketball

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Angola!, Jan 10, 2008.

1. Angola!

Angola! Guest

This might seem like a dumb question, but I am used to covering high school basketball and having to keep my own stats.
    I'm in my second year covering college basketball -- NCAA Division II -- and I am wondering what are some things to keep track of or watch for during the game since I don't have to keep my own stats.
    Suggestions?

2. wickedwritah

wickedwritah Guest

I keep a more detailed running -- I'll try to make sure I note baskets that come off putbacks, turnovers, etc., and get really descriptive about the play.

3. ondeadline

ondeadline Well-Known Member

I always keep a play-by-play sheet with a line for each score. They'll provide that, but I find it easier to find something under my system than somebody else's, plus you can note strategic changes that the SID's play-by-play sheet won't note.

4. forever_town

forever_town Well-Known Member

I usually start looking around for ways to be more descriptive, perhaps note the time when a key sequence happens so you can ask about that particular sequence. That's usually how I do it.

5. Rumpleforeskin

Rumpleforeskin Active Member

When I cover games, I write down big runs and maybe some key plays like a rebound or a block that may have an impact later in the game. Always look for a different angle.

6. SockPuppet

SockPuppet Active Member

Everybody has their own P-by-P method. I think the less writing the better. When you're writing something down, you're not watching.