1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Could you spare a moment for a newbie?

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by DGRollins, Aug 28, 2006.

1. DGRollins

DGRollins Member

And a Canadian one at that...

I'm new to the field, having gone into journalism after spending several years in another field. I'm desperate to get better so I can move up in the chain I currently work in.

I was reading this thread for a few weeks prior to the server change and have learned a great deal from it. When I looked for something to have critiqued, I wanted to present something that required a fair amount of reporting and that was written on deadline. When I was on internship, I received an e-mail from the ME assigning me this piece for the next day's front section. It was at 3 p.m., which left me scrambling to get a hold of the right people before the workday was over. I was also scheduled to cover a lacrosse game that evening at 8 p.m., so I had to write quick.

Please note that the piece was written to conform to CP rules rather than AP--think coloUr, laboUr, etc.

2. DGRollins

DGRollins Member

Knowing the score
    A stick in the eye sent NHLer Saku Koivu to hospital and opened a debate on face protection in hockey

DUANE ROLLINS
    Guelph Mercury
    April 28, 2006

It was a sight hockey fans have become far too familiar with.