1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Career Advice

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ConorRevell, Jan 2, 2013.

1. ConorRevell

ConorRevell New Member

I graduated from Murray State University this past May with a print journalism degree. Luckily, I have a full-time job covering youth, prep, and a Division II team for a Catholic Sports website.

My duties include writing feature stories and covering four to five games a week.

We also publish two 36 page guides in the fall and spring in our archdiocese's newspaper so not all of it is online, but the majority of it is.

While I love working for them, I often wonder if I'll ever have the chance to move up in my career even though I'm writing for a company that publishes 95 percent of its work online.

As of right now, I plan on working for them for at least a couple of more years so that I can gain experience. Or should I look for a small town newspaper job if I want to move up in the sports writing business?

2. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

If you think the future of the business is in print rather than online, I think you should consider a new line of work.

3. Mark2010

Mark2010 Active Member

Hi Connor,

There's nothing wrong with having your stuff appear online as opposed to in print, especially in today's marketplace. It's the old guys like myself, who have been doing print forever, that have the trouble making the change in mindset.