1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Blogging...the future of journalism?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by docpetervenkman84, Jan 29, 2010.

1. docpetervenkman84

docpetervenkman84 New Member

My name is Ben Meyers and I am a student-teacher (and former sportswriter/page designer at the Saratogian and Post-Star) and I am in charge of creating a new unit on blogging and its place in the future of journalism.

Here is are the questions I have been sending to some of my contacts in the industry:

1. What are typical things that you put into a blog post? Opinions, news, game stories, etc?

2. What are the type of posts that tend to garner the most attention?

3. How often do you post to a blog and what is the typical length of a post?

4. Do you enjoy blogging?

5. Is blogging the future of journalism?

But I wanted to know what everyone here thought as well.

If you could e-mail your responses back with a name and a publication you work for I will use them in class and post them on the blog I am running for the class: www.21stcenturybdown.wordpress.com

Thanks

Ben Meyers
    docpetervenkman84@gmail.com
    ben_meyers@hotmail.com

(I also run a blog about fan behavior: The Fan's Voice Awards - www.fansvoiceawards.wordpress.com)

2. RickStain

RickStain Well-Known Member

3. TheSportsPredictor

TheSportsPredictor Well-Known Member

6. How much money do you make off your blog?

4. Fredrick

Fredrick Well-Known Member