1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Big-time pro franchises vs. small-time shops

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by UPChip, Apr 30, 2010.

1. UPChip

UPChip Well-Known Member

Got kind of a hypothetical. I'm relatively new at this SE thing, so I'm mostly trying to figure out what precedent is here:

One of my Smallville Sentinel staffers, who grew up in Podunk, Otherstate, is going back Podunk for a week of vacation. Joining him in that area is our state's MLB team, the Anytown Axe Murderers, which are playing a 3-game mid-week series at the Podunk Palookas. We run the Axe Murderers' wire stories daily.

Staffer offers to (legitimately and professionally) cover, gratis, the Podunk-Anytown series while he is away and requests credentials. The Podunk PR person initially accepts the offer over the phone, then withdraws said offer the next day after contacting his/her Anytown counterpart, who says they've never seen anyone from the Smallville Sentinel.

When my staffer clarifies to the Palookas PR person that the reason this is so is because Anytown is 500 miles away from Smallville (as opposed to 400 miles from Podunk), the Palookas PR person responds with a condescending re-denial.

My point is thus - is this SOP for MLB and other Big Four sports? Has this changed over time? My executive editor, himself a former SE in this region, said he has done this in the past (even with the Palookas) and had no issues. Could there be other variables in play?

I'm not too worked up about it. Disappointed for my staffer, sure, but more curious if this is something standard.

2. Dan Hickling