1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Being the best SE I can be.

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Damaramu, Nov 27, 2007.

1. Damaramu

Damaramu Member

Ok I haven't ever made a post and this one may gain me some ridicule but I'll give it a shot.

I graduated college in May and got this job as a sports editor in August. I use that term loosely because I'm basically a one man show.

However, I feel that I've been thrust into a situation where I don't feel that I'm doing my best job. I don't know if it's lack of experience or just not being cut out for the job.

I think when I look back at this job 5 years from now I'd be proud of my writing but not of the job I did as editor.

I'm proud of my writing. Sure it can be way better but I feel I'm improving. And I'm not just improving but I'm wanting to improve. But that's where the problem lies. I basically feel like a beat writer that's designing the page.

I don't really feel like I've made the section my own. Basically it's become a formulaic sports page with the same things on it every night. And I haven't been able to branch out with my writing yet like I'd like to because I feel like I'm still getting acclimated to the job. But that shouldn't take 4 months!