1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Basketball gamer

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by bballscribe, Dec 28, 2006.

1. bballscribe

bballscribe Member

A recent bball gamer I did. Again, I'm still relatively new to the industry (going on 13 months) so any critique would be very much appreciated.

===============
    Bob Knight may have temperamental issues but there is no questioning his eye for talent.

The Cy-Falls Golden Eagles discovered that Monday night when prized Texas Tech recruit Mike Singletary scored 16 points and controlled the game with his interior presence and led the way to a 67-48 victory for his Kingwood Mustangs.

"He's a horse inside," Eagles coach Jim Draudt said . "He takes up so much space. He has great hands and he can finish, but he can also step outside and shoot the ball so it's just tough to guard him."

Before a raucous home crowd, Cy-Falls (14-4) was determined to keep its 43-game home winning streak alive against an undefeated Mustangs (16-0)club.

But as Kingwood started the game with a precise effort to get the ball inside, the Eagles were left trying to find any counter-attack offensively.

Cy-Falls missed its first eight shots of the game, and shot 0-for-5 from 3-point range en route to an 18-6 first quarter deficit.

"We came out and missed our first eight or nine shots," Draudt said. "Against a team like Kingwood, you just can't do that. They hammered us inside. We knew that was going to be the problem coming in but we could do nothing about it."

The Eagles could never sustain enough defensive presence to mount a rally.