1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

And the AL Cy Young goes to...

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by zeke12, Nov 16, 2006.

  1. zeke12

    zeke12 Guest

    Johan Santana, of course.

    But will it be unanimous?
  2. Oz

    Oz Well-Known Member

    Who else really merits discussion here?
  3. zeke12

    zeke12 Guest

    There were some Yankee fans making a case for Wang at one point, but you don't hear much of that any more.

    If he gets it, Santana becomes the 14th pitcher to win multiple Cy Youngs.
  4. Oz

    Oz Well-Known Member

    Which would come one year later than it probably should have, but it happens.
  5. zeke12

    zeke12 Guest

    You're right, it should be his third in a row. How many pitchers have done that?

    Bartolo Colon, my ass.
  6. GB-Hack

    GB-Hack Active Member

    Much better
  7. Claws for Concern

    Claws for Concern Active Member

    Colon's ass had no comment. Neither did Bartolo.
  8. alleyallen

    alleyallen Guest

    And the AL Cy Young goes to....


    Oops, wrong thread.
  9. Claws for Concern

    Claws for Concern Active Member

    Santana wins second AL Cy Young Award

    NEW YORK (AP) -- Johan Santana won the AL Cy Young Award on Thursday for the second time in three years, and the Minnesota Twins' ace was a unanimous choice once again.

    Santana received all 28 first-place votes for a perfect total of 140 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Chien-Ming Wang of the New York Yankees finished a distant second with 15 second-place votes and 51 points. Toronto's Roy Halladay was third.
  10. Angola!

    Angola! Guest

    I was one of those Yankees fans, but Wang struggled a bit down the stretch and then the Twins won the division, so you had to give it to Santana.
  11. zeke12

    zeke12 Guest

    Nice to see it was unanimous.

    Writers get one right...
  12. BYH

    BYH Active Member

    You make it sound as if that was the tiebreaker in a close decision.

    Santana lapped the field this year.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page