1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Am I mistaken about this?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Derek_W, Dec 1, 2006.

1. Derek_W

Derek_W Guest

I'm a college student who works part-time at a small newspaper. In any staff-written story that contains a quote ending with "said [name here], who ..." the sports editor always changes it to "[name here] said, who ..."

For example, a sportswriter might put down: "I had a great game and I'm glad our team won," said Smith, who rushed 35 times for 205 yards."

The sports editor will change it to: "I had a great game and I'm glad our team won," Smith said, who rushed 35 times for 205 yards."

I've butted heads with him over this in the past, because I believe it's fundamentally wrong to put "Smith said, who." Who refers to Smith, so who should come right after Smith. My editor changes it because he apparently feels it is wrong to put "said" before the name in any situation.

Every AP story I've ever seen supports my position, but today I was doing a search and I found the following article about Jimmy Johnson at the Boston Herald website (http://sports.bostonherald.com/autoRacing/view.bg?articleid=169946):

The Johnson juggernaut didn’t end at Martinsville. Although it was Johnson’s only win during the Chase, he finished second at Texas Motor Speedway two weeks later, overtook Kenseth in the Chase standings and never looked back.

“We had the speed in the cars, we just couldn’t finish well at the start of the Chase,” Johnson said, who also won this year’s Daytona 500 and the Allstate 400 at the Brickyard.