1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Advice on writing sports columns

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by randomhero423, Jun 4, 2009.

1. randomhero423

randomhero423 Member

This summer I came up with a goal to try and write five articles per week on bleacher report as if I was writing a sports column. It's something I have never done seriously before, so I think this can help prepare me for college (I am graduating high school next week) in that it will keep me writing (along with the basketball website I write for) and lead to more exposure.

I’m making this post just to gain any general feedback about my four articles thus far and any advice/tips I should use when writing a column. I feel right now, my writing is only average for the high school senior and quite frankly, I don’t find that acceptable at this point.

Here are the links:

Top Of the Heap: Josh Beckett isn’t good, but Elite.
    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/192214-josh-beckett-not-good-but-elite

J.J. Putz Isn't What the New York Mets Had Hoped For.
    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/190653-jj-putz-isnt-what-the-mets-had-hoped-for

The Blast that Says It All: Why Collegiate Softball Is So Exciting.
    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/189648-the-blast-that-says-it-all

Advice to Vick: Pass on the NFL for 09.
    http://bleacherreport.com/articles/189082-advice-to-vick-pass-on-the-nfl-for-09