1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

2020 Trevor Bauer vs. 1968 Bob Gibson

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Jerry-atric, Oct 4, 2020.

  1. Jerry-atric

    Jerry-atric Active Member

    Who would you select?

    My friends, it is a close contest.

    Mr. Bauer had a greater ERA-“plus.”

    You cannot argue with this!

    RIP Mr. Gibson.
  2. Regan MacNeil

    Regan MacNeil Well-Known Member

    Yu Darvish.
    Jerry-atric likes this.
  3. Jerry-atric

    Jerry-atric Active Member

    Who will win the N.L. “Cy Young Award,” my friend?

    Mr. Bauer.

    You cannot argue with this!
  4. Moderator1

    Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

    What's next, Trevor Bauer, Hall of Fame?
    Dude had a great year, will win Cy Young.
    Laughable to compare him to 1968 Gibson.

    But you know that.
    HanSenSE likes this.
  5. Jerry-atric

    Jerry-atric Active Member

    This is what makes baseball fun to “discuss,” my friend!
  6. Moderator1

    Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

    I'm not your friend. Your hayseed act is getting old and fooling no one.

    Bob Gibson in 1968 had one of the greatest seasons ever, in any sport. A 1.12 ERA over 300-plus innings. Twenty-eight complete games. Ridiculous season. Cy Young, MVP, Gold Glove.

    And despite your name, you're not that old. I am. I was alive then. I saw the sumbitch pitch.

    Bauer had a hell of a year and it is joke if he doesn't easily win the Cy Young. But let's not get crazy.
  7. Slacker

    Slacker Well-Known Member

    That's a very good point!
  8. Jerry-atric

    Jerry-atric Active Member

    He won the Gold Glove, as well?

    That is remarkable.
  9. Moderator1

    Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

    One of his nine.

    Maddux won 18. Cripes.
  10. Jerry-atric

    Jerry-atric Active Member

    Jim Kaat won many, as well.

    Fielding the position can save many runs over a season.
  11. Donny in his element

    Donny in his element Well-Known Member

    He pisses some of you off, but I quite enjoy our friend manky_70.
  12. Slacker

    Slacker Well-Known Member

    You're just being a hoot!
    cyclingwriter2 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page