1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Zodiac

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Simon_Cowbell, Mar 1, 2007.

1. Simon_Cowbell

Simon_Cowbell Active Member

Reading great reviews on this, saying Downey at his absolute best.

Anyone seen it?

2. tyler durden 71351

tyler durden 71351 Active Member

No, but I will see it this weekend. When I was a freshman in college, I read Robert Graysmith's book about the case (he's the guy that Jake Gyllenhaal plays in the movie...an editorial cartoonist at the San Francisco Chronicle) It really stuck with me...the whole case was very disturbing, to say the least.

3. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member

The man who survived an attack by the Zodiac killer is now an attorney in Redlands, Calif.

http://www.sbsun.com/search/ci_5300452

4. Buck

Buck Well-Known Member

I want to see it, but I don't have time for two movies this weekend.
    That probably means 'Black Snake Moan' this weekend, 'Zodiac' later.

5. Simon_Cowbell

Simon_Cowbell Active Member

Just got back.

I don't know if this will be Best Picture of 2007, but it was better than The Departed.... Crash.... Million Dollar Baby....

It is so layered and precise, plus the camera work is unlike anything I have ever seen (including one incredible cut involving the a faux Transamerica building), and the set design was so true.... It was so 1970s... Campbell's soup dispensers? Great accent pieces litter this movie.

Story was taut and exciting, even without a murder taking place in the final two hours.

Finally, the performances... best ensemble I have ever seen perhaps.