1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Youth sports stories?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ouipa, Nov 7, 2007.

1. ouipa

ouipa Member

All I hear about these days with the small, community papers is how journalists need to write about youth sports.

Since I'm still a student, I'm a little clueless as to how journalists should go about covering youth sports. It's interesting, to say the least, because I'm intrigued by community sports and the different writing opportunities they present, but I still only have intuition to go on.

What kind of youth sports do smaller papers cover? How do they cover them? Why is this such an important movement in small-paper journalism?

2. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member

I've been at papers where Little League is really the only youth sport covered, and they were covered just like the sports from the high school level. And the movement was important at those places because covering those sports helped sell papers. Though we never did see the "actual" figures.

3. Batman

Batman Well-Known Member

For smaller papers, especially non-dailies, it's an untapped market. The big dailies cover stuff on a state and national scale, while the smaller papers do the community-based stuff that parents buy to see Little Johnny's name in the paper. Like mike said, it helps sell papers -- which, as a paycheck-drawing drone, I'm all for.