1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Your Faces of Death

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Evil ... Thy name is Orville Redenbacher!!, Feb 6, 2012.

1. How close do you think you've come to dying and/or serious injury and escaped.

I can think of three offhand.

When I was a freshman in high school I was walking with my friends to where my mom worked to go home. I was talking to my friends, looking over my shoulder when I stepped into traffic.
    The car's front tire ran over the edge of my sneaker and my bookbag broke the passenger side mirror.
    My friend was screaming my name as this happens. I'm just stunned. Shocked to the point I can't really move as the car keeps going. The driver tried to stop but traffic was backed up and I was OK, so they kept going.

In college, two friends of mine and a girl got roughed up by some local Gypsies at a hangout. A bunch of us head down there to see what's going on. We get down there - there's like 20 of us and about a dozen of them. They had a gun. We booked.
    They started chasing us.
    There are 8-10 of us piled into the back of a six-cylinder Ford Ranger. Four of these guys were easy 250 lbs. Easy.