1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Young Gun for Hire Looking for Advice From Old Hands

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by El_Sol, Sep 15, 2010.

1. El_Sol

El_Sol New Member

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the field of sports journalism (recent graduate), I'm practically green really. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice about breaking into the field and pretty much just some good tips (like who to read or study, for example) and pointers to help me out?

I'm pretty much starting at a disadvantage in the field, because I don't have a degree in journalism. Instead, I have a degree in creative writing, which I don't think will do me any favors when applying to reporting jobs. I didn't know I wanted to be a sports writer when I was picking a school or even when I was going to school--I just knew I had to be a writer. So, I've been busting my tale trying to round-up as many freelancing opportunities as possible, to hopefully add relevant field experience to my resume to make up for the fact that I don't have the practical educational background.

In my heart though, I know I have the passion and the drive to be a premiere sports journalist I just need the opportunity to show my chops. I mean, I want to be the next Red Smith, Grantland Rice, Ring Lardner, or yes, even Hunter Thompson of the sports writing world. I want to be just as prolific as those writers and make each story I write sing on the page.

Anyways, I'm getting carried away. Thanks for any and all advice and comments.

Best,
    El_Sol

2. Sports_Scribe

Sports_Scribe Member