1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Yet another football stat question

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by bigpern23, Oct 2, 2007.

  1. bigpern23

    bigpern23 Well-Known Member

    Does spiking the ball to kill the clock count against the QB as an incompletion?
  2. sportshack06

    sportshack06 Member

    Factors into the TEAM Stats

    Same thing for a QB Kneel
  3. spnited

    spnited Active Member

    Why was the spike rule even put in? Why is intentional grounding OK at some times but not at others?
    Might be the dumbest rule in all of sports, dumber even than the "breaking the plane" bullshit.
  4. wickedwritah

    wickedwritah Guest

    Really, sportshack?

    I always counted them as individual rushes and individual incompletions.
  5. 93Devil

    93Devil Well-Known Member


    I would even give it a -1 in yardage.
  6. wickedwritah

    wickedwritah Guest

    I always go on where the ball is spotted -- or, if it's the last play of the period/game, where the referee stands at the end of the play (which would be the spot).
  7. 93Devil

    93Devil Well-Known Member

    When I used to keep the HS stats, the knee was usually happening at a time when I was trying to compile other stats. I just gave the -1 because the old deadline clock was starting to tick.
  8. bigpern23

    bigpern23 Well-Known Member

    Why? They don't lose a yard on a spike. It's just an incompletion.

    My feeling is that hack would be correct that it should be factored into team stats, not individual because you'd be penalizing the individual for a play that works exactly as designed and helps the team.

    As for Spnited's comment, he's right on. It makes no sense that it is OK in that situation.

    EDIT: I now see that 93Devil meant on a kneel, not a spike.
  9. Hank_Scorpio

    Hank_Scorpio Active Member

    A kneeldown is definitely a team rush with the negative yardage credited to the team. That's why you see this in the rushing category: Team 1-(minus-5).

    I always did a spike as an incompletion to the QB, tho. (Maybe I'm wrong on that tho).
  10. wickedwritah

    wickedwritah Guest

    Fumble recoveries also count as team rushes, correct?
  11. pressboxer

    pressboxer Active Member

    The answer to all (or at least most) of your questions can be found here:

  12. sportshack06

    sportshack06 Member

    TEAM STATISTICS—In the fair application of statistical rules, there are
    certain situations during which individual losses should be absorbed by
    team statistics. In a clarification of previous policies, a team rush should
    be charged when a quarterback kneels down in order to run out the
    clock. Also, a team pass attempt should be charged when a quarterback
    throws a pass into the ground in order to stop the clock. In neither instance
    should the individual player be charged with the play.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page