1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Wrong section, but need quick feedback before deadline

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by smsu_scribe, Sep 17, 2009.

1. smsu_scribe

smsu_scribe Guest

I'm a sophomore working for our college rag, and I would like some feedback on this piece. Sorry for crossing sections, but our running back is likely to break the school's all-time rushing record on Saturday, and I want to get this story online sometime tomorrow.

I have enough room for this entire story, but let me know if it needs to be cut down, and maybe give suggestions as to where. I felt like I had some great material to work with, and it was hard to figure out what to leave out. Maybe you guys can help.

Rich Froemling wasn’t bred for the big city. His “tough little neighborhood” in inner-city Chicago may have made groomed him into a hardy running back, but it was the country air that he longed for growing up.
    “I knew what the rural environment was,” Froemling said, “and I enjoyed that more than the crowdedness of the large city, so after high school I was looking to get out of the urban area.”
    So after Froemling graduated from Kennedy High School, he came to then Southwest State University in 1971 and found open room in the living environment and on the football field as a running back. He ended his career in 1974 with 2,552 rushing yards, a record that has stood to this day. With Mustangs senior Zach Wysong 53 yards from setting a new mark, however, Froemling’s days atop the record books are dwindling