1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Writing For General Interest Sites

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by BNWriter, Apr 13, 2010.

1. BNWriter

BNWriter Active Member

I have a friend who has her master's and is wanting to write general subject articles for sites like about.com. She found hubpages.com and asked me what I thought of it. Looking at it, most of the article bylines are by people who use their handles (like BNWriter, etc.), and not their real names.

Do any of you know of these same kinds of general interest sites that are:

1) Accepting material regularly, regardless of subject;

2) That will deal fairly with a very new freelancer;

3) Will pay $$$ without strings or catches

4) Will use her given name on a byline so she does not have to resort to using a handle of another kind?
    Any help here would be a big help so that I can properly advise my friend. Thanks!!

2. playthrough

playthrough Moderator Staff Member

I wouldn't say $$$. More like $.

3. mustangj17

mustangj17 Active Member

I've yet to find a site that will pay you a worthwhile amount to blog or write for them. This includes Examiner.

About.com is an exception to the rule, but not anyone can do it. You have to be a solid writer and qualified to write about your chosen topics. You have to complete training and beat out other applicants.

Having said that, if anyone hears about such a site let me know.

By the way, anyone ever think what we could accomplish if together we launched a sports site where we just BLOGGED! About random crap all day? I think we could do quite well.

4. BNWriter

BNWriter Active Member