1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Writing about officials

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by CYowSMR, Nov 24, 2010.

1. CYowSMR

CYowSMR Member

I am a writer as well as an official. This is really kind of an odd subject for me, but here is the situation:

1A Football. ::)
    Halftime, fight breaks out. Officials attempt to break it up, throw their flags, etc. Fight continues for, say, three minutes until coaches are able to corral players to the locker rooms. Resulted in some penalties and ejections, but most noticeably, the two players involved in the "hard tackle" are not ejected.

How would you write or handle this in a gamer?

2. Michael_ Gee

Michael_ Gee Well-Known Member

Have to cover it. Officials should be asked their version of what the hell happened, whether or not they respond. Coaches and players (remaining players), too.

3. spnited

spnited Active Member

What effect did the ejections have on the outcome of the game? If minimal, you mention the incident and the ejections and go on. If star players got ejected, it becomes much more important to the story

4. CYowSMR

CYowSMR Member

I didn't even talk to the officials. One, because I already know (from being one) they can not comment. (I also say league regulations prohibit officials to comment) Two, because they run off the field so quickly, it would have been difficult to catch them.

I understand you have to cover it, but do you even mention the officials?

5. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

Yes. You try to talk to them and say they refused to comment, left the field, cited league rules, whatever.