1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Wife and Kids question for all

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Fredrick, Sep 12, 2009.

?

How many of you with a wife and kids now wish you'd never gotten into newspapers?

1. Me

31 vote(s)
    52.5%
  2. I'm happy as hell I'm a Journalist

28 vote(s)
    47.5%
  1. Fredrick

Fredrick Well-Known Member

Just wondered how many of you ... if you knew then what you know now ... would have still gotten into Journalism. Some people getting fired, getting another job, moving their family and getting laid off again? Horror stories all over about not being able to spend any time with the kids.
    Is this career as bad for married individuals with kids as I think it is?
    Tell me and tell all those who are thinking of getting married and having a family.

2. fishwrapper

fishwrapper Active Member

Aside from the financials:
    It's not a traditional lifestyle. But, you and your spouse, need to know that going in.
    If you can get past missing a barbecue or a party and if you and spouse are independent thinkers, it can work.

3. maumann

maumann Well-Known Member

That's a very tough question because everyone's situation is different, but I'd say it's no easier or harder to sustain a long-term relationship in the communication industry than in most occupations.

I can't really answer the "children" question because we weren't fortunate to be blessed with any, but I'm certain that colleagues who do find a way to make time in their lives for them.