1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Why not go on strike?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by creaven, Oct 17, 2007.

1. creaven

creaven New Member

I'm sure this has a obvious answer, but why don't reporters ever (or very rarely) go on strike?

I admit that I'm new to the business and young, but are we really that expendable? Can paper's get away with hiring scabs and printing AP throughout an entire paper? Is it a lack of organization? Are reporters looked down upon so much that we would get no public support?

Anyway, if my paper figures out who this is I'm not thinking or even want to go on strike (they can fire me for any reason they see fit). I'm just curious why others haven't hit the picket lines.

I did find this article that kind-of-sort-of explains why, but not really:

http://citypages.com/databank/24/1180/article11382.asp

2. Most recent strikes have been spectacularly unsuccessful, and that's why I think you see so few of them.

Frankly, I think the biggest problem is the Guild linking the strike with other non-newsroom units. In Detroit, they were striking (in part) to protect blatant feather-bedding downstairs. In Youngstown, many of the non-newsroom strikers were making more from their union-paid strike income than they would on the job, and thus had no incentive to negotiate and end the strike.

I think that explains why many Guild people became disillusioned and crossed the line.

I don't think scabs are the issue. Replacement workers are inevitable. It's not like the paper is going to stop publishing because the workers are on strike.

3. Pete Incaviglia