1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Why do you blog for your newspaper?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by kickoff-time, Oct 20, 2009.

1. kickoff-time

kickoff-time Well-Known Member

Not sure if this topic has been broached on here before, but I just wonder why beat writers, columnists and others blog for their papers when there seems to be little payoff, specifically in compensation. As an editor, I do not blog for my paper.

I understand why newspapers want the online presence -- breaking news, faster reader interaction, etc, etc. In fact I would say more can be done through live blogging to better interact with readers.

But I do not understand why newspapers refuse to pay their people for this work. As far as I know none of the people posting blogs for our paper gets compensated for it whether it's a blurb on a breaking story, a lengthy feature or an in-game running blog, yet the paper is making money off it through more Web traffic and, thus, online ad rates.

It baffles me that respected, talented writers continue to blog for papers as many as 8-10 times per day yet do not get compensated, or better yet, refuse to ask for compensation. There comes a time when pride/effort needs to be met with dollars.

One writer I know gets 2 million page views per month yet gets no compensation because "it's just part of the job now." Imagine if he started his own Web site and had advertisers paying for 2 million page views per month. Think he would still get zero dollars?