1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Why are unpaid internships legal?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by IllMil, Feb 18, 2010.

1. IllMil

IllMil Active Member

So, I'm 22, recent grad, and I made the decision toward the end of school that I was going to stay away from newspapers, despite the fact I majored in journalism and all my experience was freelancing at papers and managing the one at school. I just didn't like the pay or the market, or the schedule or the hours, etc...

Anyway, I got lucky, was hired as a temp (sometimes they call me an intern, I don't really know, but whatever) at Northwestern Mutual. I'm doing similar stuff to what I did for papers, feature-type stories for corporate communications. Obviously it's a different spin, but you get the point. I get $16 an hour, but not quite 40 hours, so it's not really reliable employment and I'm still looking elsewhere.

A bunch of my friends are interns now, whether still in school or just out, and most of them are unpaid. I don't understand why this is even allowed. Some of them have to even use their own software or computer for work. So they aren't given resources, or money, but are expected to produce material to benefit the company/paper. Why is this legal? Why is it illegal to work in a factory for less than minimum wage, but you are allowed to screw recent grads by giving them NOTHING. Why isn't there some labor group protesting this? It's literally going on everywhere, I'm not just talking about newspapers.