1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Who here's gotten into writing fiction? Screenplay, novel? How far did you get?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Kayaugstin Kott, Apr 11, 2017.

1. Curious the answers I'll get here. As for me, I will eventually complete one of my screenplay or book ideas ... and I've been telling myself that for years ...

2. Matt Stephens

Matt Stephens Well-Known Member

According to some of my readers, I'm a great fiction writer.

3. exmediahack

exmediahack Well-Known Member

Three novels - all published in the previous decade. The first one came out when I was 29 (and had started writing it at 27). Goodness, what a fun stretch that was. Never forget the day I saw the hardcover at an actual bookstore.

Good-sized publisher, regional book tour (even got to appear on the sports radio talk show that I grew up listening to), lots of print and radio attention... and not a lot of sales. A triumphant book signing in my hometown where my high school English teachers showed up and bought stacks of them.

The publisher, five years later, gave me any remaining copies for free. Hundreds still fill my garage :)

Fiction is a bear for a first-time/non-celebrity author. Especially niche fiction, as mine was sports.