1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

When to start sending resumes

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by True Son, Sep 19, 2008.

1. True Son

True Son New Member

I'm a journalism student and will be graduating in May. When is an appropriate time to start sending out resumes? And what method would you recommend for who you send them to? As many places as possible whether they list an opening or not? Only places with openings? Etc...

2. hockeybeat

hockeybeat Guest

Now would be a good time.

3. deskslave

deskslave Active Member

This used to be stickied at the top of the page, though I guess it was unstickied once graduation season passed. In any event, there's some useful information in it.

http://www.sportsjournalists.com/forum/threads/54622/

4. Rumpleforeskin

Rumpleforeskin Active Member

Yesterday.

I took a while to send out resumes. Don't make that mistake (among others).

5. HejiraHenry

HejiraHenry Well-Known Member

At least as far as the time frame is concerned, this is the correct answer about beginning the job search effort. You should have started yesterday.

But is sending out resumes the right answer? What do you even have on a resume at this point? I dunno.

6. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

Build contacts right now. Talk with editors where you are interning for advice. It won't hurt sending out resumes, but don't expect to hear anything back until March.

7. NQLBLQ

NQLBLQ Member

Make contacts. Don't worry so much about applying places yet. Talk to the local editor, talk to the nearest metro editor, hang out at bars and talk to the writers.

Use their expertise.