1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What's "better" ... bankruptcy or foreclosure?

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Bradley Guire, Jun 13, 2012.

1. Bradley Guire

Bradley Guire Well-Known Member

2. The Big Ragu

The Big Ragu Moderator Staff Member

I'm no expert on this. What I do know. A bankruptcy will affect your credit for 10 years. A foreclosure for less than that. I think it may be 7 years. But the foreclosure is going to seriously affect your ability to buy a home (and possibly even rent). I'd talk to a lawyer or a debt counselor to weigh each. My guess is it isn't a one size fits all thing. They both suck. You have to weigh the choices and decide which is best for your circumstances.

That said, first thing I'd do is look for a way to avoid either. Have you contacted your mortgage lender to see if you can arrange anything without going into formal foreclosure? It takes time for a formal foreclosure to begin. A forbearance, if they will arrange one, could buy you some time.

My main questions are, how long has your house been on the market? Are you getting so few showings because you have it overpriced for the market -- trying to avoid a short sale? Hoping someone is going to pay over market for your place isn't going to help you.