1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What is a promotion to you

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Illinoissportseditor, Oct 4, 2008.

1. I have thought about this for a while and wanted to get other people's thoughts on this subject. I am a sports editor for a six day (M-Sa) paper in southern Illinois with a circulation of about 9,000. I have a stringer and the managing editor helps out Friday night's, but I'm pretty much on my own.

Really my question boils down to this...My former boss (managing editor) first broke in the business as a sports guy. At the same newspaper, the news editor also started in sports. My new job, the managing editor also started in sports. Basically, has anyone here been tempted to move on to a news editor position? I have wondered whether one day I will move away from covering sports full time and try something different in the business.

2. thegrifter

thegrifter Member

well, the hours are certainly better

3. ya know, i've always wondered about people who give such specific information on here and criticize their "staff," or in this case a "very weak" stringer.

now, maybe there are 30 or 40 papers in southern illinois that fit the description - circ. of 9,000 or so that publishes monday through saturday with a managing editor who writes sports and a news editor who started in sports

maybe not though

4. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member

I was thinking the same thing, dude.