1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What got you started?

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by huntsie, May 5, 2008.

1. huntsie

huntsie Active Member

Can you point to a time or an event or a piece of writing that made you decide "I want to do this for a living?"
    For me, it was Allen Abel in the Globe and Mail -- the guy was a genius with the written word. I remember a column he wrote in which the whole premise of the piece was that, if Tony Esposito had stopped Jacques Lemaire's long shot in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup final in 1971, the entire face of hockey would be different.

The Hawks would have won the Cup. Bobby Hull wouldn't have jumped to the WHA. The WHA would never have gotten off the ground....and so on.
    I thought...Man I wish I could write like that guy and do it every day...
    I can't mind you. But I get to do it every day...

2. Mizzougrad96

Mizzougrad96 Active Member

I was dropped on my head as a child... :D

3. kingcreole

kingcreole Active Member

After seeing my first byline, I was hooked.

4. Mizzougrad96

After seeing your first paycheck, not so much... :D

5. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

I blame soccer.

6. PeteyPirate

PeteyPirate Guest

Someone offered me some at a party.

7. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

Did you inhale?

8. Mizzougrad96

Friends don't let friends major in journalism...

9. Moderator1

Moderator1 Moderator Staff Member

Reading coverage of the Senators in the Washington Post.

10. Football_Bat

Football_Bat Well-Known Member