1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What exactly are sports journalists qualified to do?!

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Leaver?, May 17, 2008.

1. Leaver?

Leaver? New Member

Seriously considering doing something different due to hours, holidays and security of it all.
    I’ve decided that I want out but what’s holding me back is the fact that I’ve been doing this for ten years, and having worked as a journalist in Sports I’m unsure as to what exactly I’m qualified to do.
    In the last year I’ve completed a Masters in an unrelated field.
    So those of you who left, how did you go about?..
    Excited by the prospect of doing something different, but its a bit daunting too!

2. huntsie

huntsie Active Member

I'm wondering too. Thinking seriously of a career change, or at least a move out of a poisonous environment.

3. Tucsondriver

Tucsondriver Member

You're asking what everyone in this business is thinking, and best short answer I can give is nobody knows. Friends who've transitioned to PR seem to be doing well. But they made their moves a few years ago, and things have changed tremendously in the last few years, and those jobs are now very hard to get. I know of others who've thought about going to teaching, but don't know of anyone who's actually done it. Unless you expect to be laid off soon, I'd stay and try to ride out the recession. Time to think about a move, for sure, but not the best time to be making a move. The sinking tide's bringing almost everybody down with it.

4. fremont

fremont Member