1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

What do you do if you're not comfortable with your clips?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by IllMil, Mar 12, 2008.

1. IllMil

IllMil Active Member

OK, let me preface this by saying that I understand editors are going to hack your work to pieces. But here's my problem.

As a student, I can only try to write decent clips so I have a chance to land a job. But it seems, EVERY time I turn in a story, it comes back to me with added mistakes. Being a school paper, the copy editors are frat guys working 10 hours a week for beer money. They're lazy, and they can't write.

I just want to know ... is it really bad if your clips have typos and mistakes? Or do people just want to see that you HAVE clips? Every 5-6 weeks I'll finally get one that comes out clean, but more often than not, someone adds some stupid crap to my stories. One time they actually rewrote interception to read "intereception." They constantly insert commas where they shouldn't be, insert or remove words, etc. Most recently they changed this sentence:

"Jones alertly grabbed it and launched a three in the waning seconds, but the shot rattled out, and the Cougars season was over."

to

"Jones alertly grabbed it and launched a three in the waning seconds, but the shot rattled out, ending the UM-Dinkville's season."

Really? "The UM-Dinkville?" There have been far worse examples, but that was the most recent one.

I just put my head down and do the next story, because I don't want to come off as hypersensitive. But I also don't want a hiring editor to read my stories and think I'm retarded, either.