1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Western Conference Match-up Question

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Lieslntx, Apr 15, 2008.

1. Lieslntx

Lieslntx Active Member

I listened to the commentators last night talking about how complicated the what-if situations are for the playoff match-ups in the Western Conference. But now that there are only 2 regular season days left, are there any what-if win/loss situations that will result in Houston & Utah NOT playing each other in the first round? Personally, I can't see any way these two won't play each other in the first round, but I'm not an expert.

Side note to AA: Get your scrawny butt back to town so you can get up-to-date and help me muddle through this mess!

2. alleyallen

alleyallen Guest

I'll be back tonight. Get your scrawny butt to the airport and pick me up so I can see my new kittens and my Little Man.

3. Football_Bat

Football_Bat Well-Known Member

For the Mavs, it's simple. Beat New Orleans tonight and you get to play them again. Lose to New Orleans and it's a dose of Kobe.

4. MileHigh

MileHigh Moderator Staff Member

Assuming the DUIs/Nuggets beat the Grizzlies.

5. ucacm

ucacm Active Member

A little late, but :

Link: http://www.nba.com/news/playoff_scenarios_080416.html

A. HOUSTON-PHOENIX-UTAH-SAN ANTONIO (Seeds 3 to 6)

(Higher Seeded team has homecourt in first round unless otherwise indicated)
    1. If Houston and San Antonio win:
    3-San Antonio
    4-Utah
    5-Houston (homecourt)
    6-Phoenix

2. If Houston, Utah and Phoenix win:
    3-Utah
    4-Phoenix
    5-Houston (homecourt)
    6-San Antonio