1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Web issues

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by mrbigles01, May 4, 2011.

1. mrbigles01

mrbigles01 Member

I am having an issue that I can't seem to find a way around and wanted to bounce it off the sometime sagacious members of the SJ community.

I graduated from J school a little over a year ago, and thanks to some diligence on my part and a series of good internships while I was a student I was hired as the Sports Editor of a small weekly paper upon graduation. I have a "staff," of two people who write columns and I do all of the other writing. The content is about 90% preps with the occasional hunting, fishing, 5k race, whatever.

The issue here is our website. We barely use it and it is embarrassing. The Editor of the paper doesn't like to post things on the site until after they have run in the paper so that we don't "hurt our newsstand sales." That argument is laughable, we have a readership of 4k and they are subscribers for the most part, very few people are ever in town and want to just pick up the paper. Either you get the thing or you don't.

The web site is also behind a pay wall, only subscribers have access to the site, such as it is. Our site can't do audio or video and all we have is tiny photos, it is truly awful.