1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Wanting to make jump from twice-weekly to daily, but

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Stitch, Jan 28, 2009.

1. Stitch

Stitch Active Member

I'm looking to make the jump to a daily from a twice-weekly. I could get a job at a smaller daily, but my problem is the pay that dailies are offering. I make over $30k at my current gig, which is my first job after college (I worked in the IT industry without a degree and went back to school where I discovered I liked reporting).

I've had some contact with dailies and the pay that is being offered is ridiculously low ($10 to $11 an hour). Of course I can't take that type of cut and I'm looking to make more money in my next stop.

Any ideas besides the get out now replies, since I'm sticking with journalism.

2. expendable

expendable Well-Known Member

I've been in that same situation for years now. I make too much at the twice-weekly to justify the pay cut I'd be getting to step "up" to a small daily. Plus, the job security here seems to be more stable. If I could "get out now" I would, but I'm just happy to have a job at this point.

3. I had to take a $5K pay cut when I went from SE of a weekly chain to grunt at a 15K daily. Fortunately, I was able to move up and on quickly.

4. dsg155

dsg155 Member

I'd wait to find what you're looking for. I'm on my second shop, almost 3 years out of school and I'm below the $30k line, so what you have is pretty nice anyway (depending on the area you are in).

5. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member