1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Wake-up call

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ports, Feb 28, 2008.

1. ports

ports Guest

I'm a college student and part-timer at a major metro daily. I've been writing a weekly notebook/feature for one of our zoned editions, learning a lot, getting good clips. Things are nice, generally.

This week's feature was handed in on deadline, "nice job" from the editor, saw the edits, was pleased with how it turned out, went to bed happy.

I wake up to a call this morning from feature subject's father. "You did a great job, we're all really happy..."

(But...)

"...but the photos you used -- those weren't my kid."

Has this ever happened to anyone out there? Parent was nice, but mentioned three times that we should just run it next week or in the main sports section. I said I can't promise anything, but we'll see about getting a reprint of the page with the right photo on there.

Any tales of woe?

2. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member

I'll send you my life story.

3. forever_town

forever_town Active Member

He doesn't have time to read anything more than 20 percent longer than War and Peace.

4. mike311gd

mike311gd Active Member

I'll send the cliff notes.

5. buckweaver

buckweaver Active Member

Don't sweat it; you're not the one who designed the page and used the photo.