1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

USAGE/DEFINITION OF: Unanswered Runs

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by new-pj, Jan 5, 2007.

1. new-pj

new-pj New Member

I am a sports journalist student and was docked for my use of "unanswered runs" in a graded exercise. The reason was over abiguity of the term. I believe it only has one definition but I don't know where to find it.

My definition: The amount of runs/points a team scores since the other team has scored, regardless of the score at that time, or how long it takes them to score.

Example: Team A scores 4 runs, 4-0, Team A has 4 unanswered runs (AT THAT TIME) If the game ends, they still scored 4 unanswered runs. If Team B then scores 1, 4-1, Team B has 1 unanswered runs, although it is meaningless since they are behind. If Team B scores 6 more runs, 7-4, they will have scored 7 unanswered runs, not 3.

Can anyone point me in the right direction as to the definition or general usage?

Thanks!

2. unanswered points = points that aren't answered

Team A scores 17 points, team B cannot score any points the rest of the game

seventeen unanswered points

Team B scores a point in the last minute of the game, those 17 points are no longer unanswered

is your question now answered?

3. new-pj

new-pj New Member

No. Your scenario is straightforward and self explanatory.

Team A scores 4. Team B then scores 10. Game ends. How many unanswered points?

4. Eagleboy

Eagleboy Guest

Your scenario was straightforward and self-explanatory.

Team A's 4 runs were answered by Team B's 10 runs. Therefore, 10 unanswered points.

5. shotglass