1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

United States casualties in Afghanistan top 1,500

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by CarltonBanks, May 30, 2011.

1. CarltonBanks

CarltonBanks New Member

http://www.cnsnews.com/news/article/least-1492-us-soldiers-have-died-afghani

Memorial Day and the number of U.S. soldiers killed in Afghanistan surpasses 1,500. Sure, this is the "right war" and all, but what is the endgame? How much longer are we going to be reading about dead soldiers?

Four young men from my area were among the casulties this weekend. A guy I graduated with was killed in Afghanistan last year (class of 132 people, everyone knew everyone quite well). Are we getting anything done over there? We got Bin Laden, can everyone go home now?

2. Stoney

Stoney Well-Known Member

Re: United States casulties in Afghanistan top 1,500

Yes, we are keeping the Taliban out of power.

My understanding is the reason we can't all just go home now is, if we do, the Taliban retakes Afghanistan, Al Qaeda regains its sanctuary country to rebuild its networks with impunity, and we're right back where we started with nothing to show for a decade of fighting beyond finally getting Bin Laden. And, of course, us pulling out and the Taliban quicky re-taking Afgh would no doubt be percieved by the world as victory over the U.S. (although I'm not sure I give a shit about such perceptions anymore). I'd like to think those 1500 died for something that will be more lasting and substantial than the death of one old man.