1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Unions/guilds pros and cons

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by buzzerbeater, Aug 2, 2007.

1. buzzerbeater

buzzerbeater Member

I am a 16-year vet who has never been part of a union or guild.
    That may change soon despite the extreme opposition of our publisher and corporate.
    Would enjoy reading some pros and cons of unions/guilds from those of you in the know.

Thanks.

2. STLIrish

STLIrish Active Member

I've been at two union papers and one non-union paper. All I know is that, at the union papers, I got better pay, reasonable benefits and, for the most part, overtime when I worked it.

3. Smasher_Sloan

Smasher_Sloan Active Member

A union will also help keep you from getting fired without cause.

The drawback to that is those same rules sometimes wind up protecting slackers who flaunt them.

4. Flying Headbutt

Flying Headbutt Moderator Staff Member

If you ask me the pros outweigh the cons. Typically it means better benefits and better treatment. But that's not exactly on a stone tablet carried down by Moses.

5. zeke12

zeke12 Guest

You'll make more money and it will be harder for management to fire you -- in general.

Some other folks will be along shortly to tell you why that's a bad thing.

6. Brooklyn Bridge

Brooklyn Bridge Well-Known Member

Screw the unions. They cap how much you can make and help those who shouldn't be employed keep their jobs. I'm sorry, but I'm a grown man and I can negotiate my own salary if I want to. I won't get into the nepotism/cronyism, involved in non-industry shops.