1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Uhhmm, AP, how many Beckham stories are you going to shove down our throats?

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by Starman, Jul 13, 2007.

1. Starman

Starman Well-Known Member

Just askin.'

::) ::)

2. Just_An_SID

Just_An_SID Well-Known Member

Just like Botts' posts, you CAN ignore those story if you don't want to use them.

Of course, I'm no newspaper expert.

3. imjustagirl2

imjustagirl2 New Member

Fewer stories, more photos, please.

[​IMG]

4. sportschick

sportschick Active Member

There can never be enough Beckham stories. There can, however, be too many pictures of his wife looking like Skeletor.

You may not like it, but it is a pretty big story, and I don't even like the MLS.

5. sportschick

IJAG's a girl after me own heart.

6. Starman

Starman Well-Known Member

1. MLS is a very minor niche sport in the U.S.

2. Beckham was actually dropped from Man U and Real because he really isn't good enough to play at that level anymore. It would be like Michael Jordan going to play for some British league basketball team.

3. The Spice Girls haven't had a hit in 9 years, and were never really that big in the U.S. anyway. Tiffany would be a bigger name to U.S. audiences. I guarantee you 900 out of 1,000 U.S. adults between 15-35 have no clue in hell who Posh Spice is (or was).

7. pressmurphy

pressmurphy Member

It may be a big story for soccer, but soccer is a mere caraway seed in the bun of American sports.
    Pele was big. Cruyff was big (or should have been). In 2007, Beckham not so much.

8. sportschick