1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Turning The Page: A 20th Year Reunion Story

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by forever_town, Aug 14, 2011.

1. forever_town

forever_town Well-Known Member

As some of you on my Facebook may or may not know, this year is the year for my 20th year high school reunions. Since I went to two different high schools my senior year, I go to both reunions, even though I only graduated from one of the schools.

The first reunion this year, and the first reunion back when we had our 10-year reunions, was at the school I graduated from. In each case, the reunion was special because it was the first time I went to a reunion for either of the schools I went to. Ten years ago, I was unemployed then, as I was recently. This time, I had a much better story to tell: Before I'd even hit nine months on my current job, I was promoted, and I'm enjoying the job I have now and the manager I work for.

However, I just got back late last night from my 20th year reunion at my other school. That reunion and the 10-year before it were special for different reasons. Since I left abruptly about the halfway point of my senior year, the 10-year reunion was about closing a chapter in my life that remained unfinished. It was essentially an opportunity to do the things I didn't get to do back then.