1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Tough time to find a new job

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by NDub, Apr 28, 2009.

1. NDub

NDub Guest

Damn, this is a tough job market.

I've been applying for jobs for like five months and got one interview and two rejection e-mails. I've sent out probably 60-70 resumes/cover letters or applied online.

I'm confident my resumes and cover letters are good as I've gone over them so many times and others have checked them, too. I even cater each to the specific job for which I'm applying.

I've sort of handcuffed myself to one area because I want to stay close to family and friends, but I'm beginning to think I should open my options.

Over the last two years, my newspaper has done a lot of cutting back and I'm afraid there isn't much more to do. We don't get raises this year. Hourly workers got cut 2.5 hours a week and salary loses 6%. Plus 401K match is down (haven't started that yet as I'm still pretty young plus I don't make enough money to start anything substantial). The circulation is down almost 3K in a year and that's saying a lot given that we're sitting around 21K right now.

I don't enjoy coming to work every day anymore. The pay is lousy, the hours inconsistent and the newsroom can be listless. I want out so bad. I'm so frustrated.

Sorry. Just wanted to rant.

2. Batman

Batman Well-Known Member

There's always Roswell.

3. RickStain

RickStain Well-Known Member

Going from 60k reporting jobs to 40k in 36 months while j-schools pump out more graduates every year will do that.

4. Johnny Dangerously

Johnny Dangerously Well-Known Member