1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Too much, too soon

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by TooMuchTooSoon, Dec 30, 2008.

1. TooMuchTooSoon

TooMuchTooSoon New Member

* I am a regular contributor to this site, but would like to maintain a sense of anonymity.
    * I am 24 years old.
    * I have dreamed of being a sports columnist for my entire life.

So here's the thing:
    I - luckily, graciously, miraculously - was just told today that I would be given a twice-weekly column in my newspaper. This is a major metropolitan newspaper, in one of the country's biggest cities, and while I am new at said paper, I believe I have proven myself worthy with my writing ability.

Still, I can't help but feel a bit daunted by this responsibility. Excited, sure. Thrilled. But very, very nervous about how I'll perform, and whether I should even be given such a task so quickly.

Has anyone else been thrown to the wolves rather quickly? And I'm talking more from a columnist perspective here, because I don't think I could really handle a big beat, like others my age, such as Teddy Kider (covers the Hornets for the Times-Picayune), Kent Babb (Chiefs for KC Star) or Jon Abrams (Knicks for NY Times).

2. Bump_Wills

Bump_Wills Member

Others may disagree, but my perspective is that no one who hasn't handled a big beat has much business writing a column. The best columnists are pretty damned good reporters, too.

3. PeteyPirate

PeteyPirate Guest

If you freeze up, just get on here and name the subject. We'll write it for you.

4. fishwrapper

fishwrapper Active Member

Wilting poinsettias. Go...

5. Big Circus