1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Too much experience for a new job

Discussion in 'Anything goes' started by Corky Ramirez up on 94th St., Aug 20, 2007.

1. Is this a bad thing?

I ask because I have 10 years' experience at my present stop. I have been applying to LOTS of jobs on college campuses over the past year and most ask for 3-5 years experience. Conversely, I have not gotten a call for one interview, and I have applied to about 20 jobs at five different colleges, some of which deal with the exact same thing I do at my present stop.

It goes without saying I am frustrated beyond all get-out...and am wondering if too much experience is a hindrance (like I would be over-qualified or something).

2. imjustagirl2

imjustagirl2 New Member

I wonder the same thing. Sorry I can't help beyond that.
  3. Flash

Flash Guest

Sometimes it's not what you know ...
  4. bigpern23

bigpern23 Well-Known Member

I think you can be over-qualified. I recently was going through a hiring process and one of my stringers asked if he should apply.

He had worked for a couple years at a daily paper before moving back here and, while I knew he could do the job, it's really more of an entry-level job. I had a lot of turnover in the job recently and was looking for someone I knew would be here awhile. I knew he was qualified for better jobs and figured if one opened up, I'd lose him pretty quickly, which I was trying to avoid.

So instead, I went with a college graduate. The stringer caught on with someone else and my hire is working out well.