1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Tips for reporting on high school athletics

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by newinthefield, Jul 14, 2010.

1. newinthefield

newinthefield Member

I am a recent college graduate with no experience covering high school athletics (though I did cover colleges for four years). I'm sure that's what I'll end up covering once I start working, so does anyone have any general tips on covering high school athletics (especially football and basketball)? I've heard a lot of different advice from people and am always trying to gain more tips and tricks.

Thanks.

2. Simon

Simon Active Member

Don't flirt with the coaches hot MILF wife.

3. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

1. Scout out a place with wi-fi to send from beforehand.

2. Learn to take play-by-play and keep stats and practice it.

3. Don't believe the kid in the stands keeping stats for the home team when he says he'll share his stats with you. He'll be gone.

4. In football, grab the players/coaches quickly after the game, especially if they are on the road. They may just get on the bus and go.

5. Doublecheck the roster. Don't just go with what they hand out. (You don't want write that #20 John Doe rushed for 300 yards and 6 TDs and find out later that was really Steve Smith.)

6. High schools are a lot harder than colleges. You're not getting stats sheets, quote sheets, pre-arranged interviews and a press room. You've got to keep it together.

7. Don't try to be fancy at first. Keep it straight.

8. Don't write in chronological order. No one wants to read that play by play. Hit the highlights.