1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

    Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

    We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Tie goes to the runner

Discussion in 'Sports and News' started by Charlie Brown, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. Charlie Brown

    Charlie Brown Member







    In reality (based on physics)


    We have baseball writers here. What do you say? I've heard long debates on the radio during games. Some emphatically say the rule book contains contradictions. The MLB umpire in the link above seems pretty convinced that's not true. So, poorly written rule? Myth? Both?
  2. YankeeFan

    YankeeFan Well-Known Member

    I have to click on four different links to participate in this discussion?

    Care to summarize or give us a couple of excerpts?
  3. TheSportsPredictor

    TheSportsPredictor Well-Known Member

    You either beat the throw or you are out.
  4. slappy4428

    slappy4428 Active Member

    Oh sure. If you want to OVERsimplify..
  5. MartinonMTV2

    MartinonMTV2 New Member

    Tie goes to the runner. It's the same as if the guy were already standing on the bag.
  6. RickStain

    RickStain Well-Known Member

    According to the rulebook, the throw has to beat you for you to be out. Since we are concerning ourselves with the imaginary idea of "ties," that's an important distinction.
  7. doctorquant

    doctorquant Well-Known Member

    With a continuous random variable, of which time is an example, there can be no ties. Now, the differential might be smaller than the margin of error of the measurement, but that's a whole 'nother kettle of fish.
  8. rpmmutant

    rpmmutant Member

    There are no ties in baseball. I wonder how Aramando Galarraga feels about this myth of a rule.
  9. MartinonMTV2

    MartinonMTV2 New Member

    He brought that on himself by not catching the ball cleanly.
  10. Charlie Brown

    Charlie Brown Member

    No. You could say "yes" or "no." You don't have an opinion on what you think the rule is?
  11. dooley_womack1

    dooley_womack1 Well-Known Member

    Will not comment until we get his expert views.

    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 15, 2014
  12. deskslave

    deskslave Active Member


Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page