1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Thoughts on a "media relations" piece

Discussion in 'Writers' Workshop' started by crimsongolfer, Mar 21, 2007.

1. crimsongolfer

crimsongolfer New Member

Alright guys, I'm a 20-year-old sophomore working in the media relations office at the University of Alabama as a features writer. I recently discovered that there seemed to be a pretty large proportion of Kenyans on the track team, and ran with it. This came out of it:

http://www.rolltide.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=8000&ATCLID=830014

I'd love to get some thoughts or opinions. Thanks-

2. Monday Morning Sportswriter

Monday Morning Sportswriter Well-Known Member

3. I'll try to be a little more helpful than MMSW.

1) - It's way too long.

2) - There are some grammar problems in it. Although you likely have a better grasp of the language than most of your college classmates, you still need work to get to a professional level. Take a writing course at college.

3) - If you have any self-respect (or desire to work as a journalist) move away from the dark side. SIDs = Evil lying liars.

4) - Keep at it. I can see potential in this piece.

4. crimsongolfer

crimsongolfer New Member

Thanks for the constructive criticism. I agree on the length...it got a little out of hand, but there was so much that could be done with it. Besides, I was tired of writing 300-400 word write-ups on the women's basketball team.

I would appreciate a little direction on the grammar problems you mentioned, as well.

Thanks.

5. spnited

spnited Active Member

I didn't see a lot of grammar problems but the length was a problem.