1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

thinking about getting into the business...

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by jpmallari32, Jan 25, 2009.

1. jpmallari32

jpmallari32 New Member

hello all. Im a 18 year old community college student. I went to community college because i really wasnt sure what i wanted to major in. I was trying to think about possible careers i could get into and i couldnt really think of anything i really thought i would enjoy. Then it hit me.. I love sports and i believe that i am a good writer, so i started to ponder getting into journalism. I have a few question for some of you experienced sports journalists:
    1) What made you decide to get into the field?
    2) Do you have prior experience in the field of journalism (I dont) before getting into it in college? If not, did it affect anything?
    3) Is the job stressful?

Thanks everyone

2. imjustagirl

imjustagirl Active Member

I wish you all the luck in the world in deciding what shape your future will take, but please, do yourself a favor.

Start with this thread: http://www.sportsjournalists.com/forum/threads/62949/

Read every word of every post of every page. All 36 pages worth.

Then skim the rest of this board, the journalism topics board. Read about furloughs and "suggested" 32-hour weeks and papers closing and people being laid off and horrible management.

Read all of that, absorb it, and then ask yourself if you couldn't find another way for you to work writing into your daily life. I simply can't suggest this business for anyone who isn't already in it. Not with good conscience.

Good luck.