1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

The Truth

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by editorhoo, May 3, 2008.

1. editorhoo

editorhoo Member

I wrote a blog about a text conversation I had with the funniest person I've ever met. I'm a typical cynical sports writer, so you can imagine it was pretty good. Basically, it was one long joke that Internet Trolls misunderstood. They trashed me and my shop.

Long story short, my publisher took down the blog (getting censored is a separate rant I'm afraid to start for the fear I may never stop) because he didn't want people saying bad things about me or our paper (I really could not care less what people say about me).

I responded to one particular Troll, who sent me an e-mail that began "You are a moron," and told him that he misunderstood my blog, that it wasn't a news story; it was a blog. Just two friends ribbing each other. He e-mailed me back and said, "No, it was a news story."

Pause for a minute to grasp that concept from all its angles.

Because in a day and age where ESPN airs segments called Cold Hard Facts that have nothing but opinions, people literally don't know the difference between news and opinion. They think Stephen A. Smith yelling at them about who is going to win the next NBA series is news.

So I wrote a column explaining the difference between news and blogs, explaining how they're different worlds, blah, blah, blah.