1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Teaching journalism

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by ChollyTrippi, Aug 4, 2006.

1. ChollyTrippi

ChollyTrippi New Member

After nearly a decade as a sports writer, I recently took a job teaching high school journalism. Classes start in less than two weeks. The school paper is a joke, but there's a lot of potential and a lot of cause for excitement on my part. I know some of you have taught in the past and was seeking any advice you might offer. Thanks.

2. Overrated

Overrated Guest

Flirt with any and all chicks in your class. Offer to give them rides home after a long, steamy night of production. Offer them cigarettes. If they smoke, they poke.

3. Overrated

Overrated Guest

But seriously, work out your lesson plan to a T. Teach them about real-world journalism, instead of the bullshit textbooks and classes teach. Tell them stories about what you went through, good and bad. Know exactly what you are talking about. If they sense weakness or ignorance, you're fucking dead. Be cool, but not too cool. Be a dick, but not too big of a dick.

4. Cadet

Cadet Guest

Make friends with the secretaries and the janitors. They hold keys to everything in the school, literally and figuratively.

5. slappy4428

slappy4428 Active Member

Be careful of sloe-eyed sabras

6. Ace

Ace Well-Known Member

[​IMG]

7. SF_Express

SF_Express Active Member