1. Welcome to SportsJournalists.com, a friendly forum for discussing all things sports and journalism.

Your voice is missing! You will need to register for a free account to get access to the following site features:
    • Reply to discussions and create your own threads.
    • Access to private conversations with other members.
    • Fewer ads.

We hope to see you as a part of our community soon!

Taking the next step

Discussion in 'Journalism topics only' started by JBondurant804, Nov 12, 2013.

1. JBondurant804

JBondurant804 Member

I work at a paper with a circulation of over 100,000. I've been working at the prep desk of this paper in this market for a year and a half now, and I started here less than a month after graduating from school in May 2012.

I've had some great experiences, and I feel like I've grown as a writer. I couldn't have asked for a better start to my career.

But working part-time, just an hour shy of being considered full-time, I want to find that full-time gig. I feel like I'm ready to take on the extra responsibility having had the chance to do the things I've done so far.

With that said, I am just looking for some input as to what my next move should be. I have some experience covering a college (Division 3) beat, but the primary focus of my beat coverage has been at the high school level. I'm open to anything and going anywhere.